Tuesday, February 20, 2018
News & Highlights
Applicants sought for Voting Accessibility Advisory Committee

Applicants sought for Voting Accessibility Advisory Committee

Author: SuperUser Account/Wednesday, August 5, 2015/Categories: Uncategorized, Living, Government

The Riverside County Registrar of Voters is seeking people interested in becoming members of the local Voting Accessibility Advisory Committee (VAAC). On Sept. 24, the Riverside County Registrar of Voters will hold a local VAAC meeting for the senior community and those with disabilities in Riverside County. The local committee provides a forum for the community to advise, assist, and voice concerns and provide recommendations to the Registrar of Voters about improving access to the electoral process for voters with disabilities. The registrar encourages members of the public to become members of the local committee.

Requirements for prospective committee members include: fully completing a membership application; attending local VAAC meetings at the Registrar of Voters office on a quarterly basis or appointing a representative to attend; and committing up to 20 hours annually to attend the local VAAC meetings and other related meetings. No experience is necessary to become a local committee member.

Applications for prospective members are available at the office of the Registrar of Voters, 2724 Gateway Drive in Riverside. The office is open Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. to 5  p.m. Membership applications also are available by contacting the committee chair, Julie Caban, at (951) 486-7353 or the committee co-chair, Larry Smith, at (951) 486-7202. The membership application must be submitted to the office of the Registrar of Voters no later than 5 p.m. on Aug. 28.

Appointments to the local VAAC will be made by the Riverside County Registrar of Voters upon review of all applications received.


Number of views (2635)/Comments (0)


Ebola News

Facts and other information about the potentially fatal Ebola virus are available on a new web page from Riverside County health officials.